Who is a Jew?


English: Abraham embraces his son Isaac after ...

English: Abraham embraces his son Isaac after receiving him back from God (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Romans 9:6-9  It is not as though God’s word had failed. For not all who are descended from Israel are Israel. 7 Nor because they are his descendants are they all Abraham’s children. On the contrary, “It is through Isaac that your offspring will be reckoned.” 8 In other words, it is not the children by physical descent who are God’s children, but it is the children of the promise who are regarded as Abraham’s offspring. 9 For this was how the promise was stated: “At the appointed time I will return, and Sarah will have a son.”

I have thought this for years, and reading this wonderful scripture has confirmed my every inclination. The moment I became a believer I always wondered about this, I would find myself asking the question, “ Am I a descendant of Abraham”. It was a very strong feeling, even unto this day, and after reading and having this thought and emotion for so long I finally resolved on this scripture.

I found also where it was written in the Old testament  that my becoming a Christian was due to God’s choice thousands of years ago. The scripture told us, that God would prepare a place  in his house for the Gentile nation, and so it was fulfilled in Christ.

Paul outline this reality of God’s election, “What then shall we say? Is God unjust? Not at all! 15 For he says to Moses,“I will have mercy on whom I have mercy,and I will have compassion on whom I have compassion Romans 9:14-15.

In the before verses Paul also declared, “10 Not only that, but Rebekah’s children were conceived at the same time by our father Isaac. 11 Yet, before the twins were born or had done anything good or bad—in order that God’s purpose in election might stand: 12 not by works but by him who calls—she was told, “The older will serve the younger.” 13 Just as it is written: “Jacob I loved, but Esau I hated.”

I am a Christian, but by God’s choice, and that means and say a lot to me. I am saved having a guaranteed access to the kingdom, and with that I know that the life I live in righteousness is not based on my power, but on God’s elective choice and his will to sustain me unto holiness.

This is also the case for you, Jesus outlined this reality in agreement with Paul whe he declared, “ No one can come unto the Father, but by me, and no one can come unto the Father unless the Father draws him unto Himself”. Our salvation was based on God’s election, and not our human will.

John 1:11  He came to his own, and his own people did not receive him. 12 But to all who did receive him, who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God, 13 who were born, not of blood nor of the will of the flesh nor of the will of man, but of God.

“Bless the Lord O my soul and all within me bless His holy name”.

Categories: Discussion, Notes, Verses

Tags: , , , , , , ,

