Today’s Quote


Friday March 22, 2013

Jeremy Taylor is depicted in this portrait at ...

Jeremy Taylor is depicted in this portrait at Gonville and Caius College, Cambridge University. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Man and wife are equally concerned to avoid all offense of each other in the beginning of their conversation. A little thing can blast an infant blossom.

Jeremy Taylor
1613-1667

Jeremy Taylor was a clergyman in the Church of England who achieved fame as an author during The Protectorate of Oliver Cromwell. He is sometimes known as the “Shakespeare of Divines” for his poetic style of expression and was often presented as a model of prose writing. He is remembered in the Church of England’s calendar of saints with a Lesser Festival on 13 August.

He went on to become chaplain in ordinary to King Charles I as a result of Laud’s sponsorship. This made him politically suspect when Laud was tried for treason and executed in 1645 by the Puritan Parliament during the English Civil War. After the Parliamentary victory over the King, he was briefly imprisoned several times.

Eventually, he was allowed to live quietly in Wales, where he became the private chaplain of the Earl of Carbery. At the Restoration, his political star was on the rise, and he was made Bishop of Down and Connor in Ireland. He also became vice-chancellor of the University of Dublin.

Taylor’s fame has been maintained by the popularity of his sermons and devotional writings rather than by his influence as a theologian or his importance as an ecclesiastic. Source link

Categories: Notes

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 replies

  1. Lord you are our mountain, and our rock, our refuge in times of trouble. In you we have life, we are hidden under your wings. Send forth your holy angels to guard your people. Guide their efforts and give them the strength to carry on in your name.

    I speak against the plans of the enemy, we sent forth your word against his plans against your people. break his stride, and his power, you have completed the word through Jesus your son, we bless you for every victory in Jesus name. Father keep us safe each day of our lives, and fall on us the favor of long life, health, and strength. we claim in your name victory and power over the enemy in Jesus name. Father cast out the evil, drive him out of our cities and country, stand against him that oppose us, bless us and open the word and the glory of your kingdom to us. Amen.

    John 14:12-13 Verily, verily, I say unto you, He that believeth on me, the works that I do shall he do also; and greater works than these shall he do; because I go unto my Father. And whatsoever ye shall ask in my name, that will I do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son.

  2. “Father, in the name of Jesus–send down your Holy Spirit and mightily anoint ALL of Your children! Yes Lord! Come upon us heavily..may we fall down and worship You, O’ Lord, maker and creator of everything! We lift up our hands and praise You! For all You are, and for giving us life! We live this life for one reason, and one reason alone! To serve You! And that is all! May we glory not of ourselves, but only of You, Father! In the name of Jesus! Lord of Lord, and King of Kings! Amen!”

  3. I noticed your FB Like widget was all out of whack. Fixed it for you! Love ya a whole bunch! Praying for you and your ministry all the time! God bless you!

    • Thank you very much, and I am praying also for you that God will keep you above your enemies.

      • The Lord Helps His Troubled People
        A Psalm of David when he fled from Absalom his son.

        3 Lord, how they have increased who trouble me!
        Many are they who rise up against me.
        2 Many are they who say of me,
        “There is no help for him in God.” Selah

        3 But You, O Lord, are a shield for me,
        My glory and the One who lifts up my head.
        4 I cried to the Lord with my voice,
        And He heard me from His holy hill. Selah

        5 I lay down and slept;
        I awoke, for the Lord sustained me.
        6 I will not be afraid of ten thousands of people
        Who have set themselves against me all around.

        7 Arise, O Lord;
        Save me, O my God!
        For You have struck all my enemies on the cheekbone;
        You have broken the teeth of the ungodly.
        8 Salvation belongs to the Lord.
        Your blessing is upon Your people. Selah

